Board of Directors

» More in this section

Board of Directors

Our board is made up of seven members and is chaired by Scott Balfour.

Scott Balfour

Halifax, Nova Scotia

Mr. Balfour was appointed Chair of the board of directors in May 2016. He has been Chief Operating Officer, Northeast and Caribbean since March 1, 2016. Prior to that, he had been Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer since April 16, 2012.  From May 2011 to April 2012, Mr. Balfour was President of Ensimian Capital Corporation.  From September 2005 to January 2011, he was President and Chief Financial Officer of Aecon Group Inc., a Canadian publicly traded construction and infrastructure development company.


Halifax, Nova Scotia

Ms. Hutt has been Nova Scotia Power’s President and CEO since August 2016. From January 2009 to August 2010, she was the Vice President, Power, with Emera Energy. From August 2010 to April 2015 she was the Executive Vice President, Commercial (including appointment to President, Northeast Wind in November 2012). In May 2015 she began her role as Vice President, Mergers and Acquisitions with Emera.

Lee Bragg

Fall River, Nova Scotia

Mr. Bragg has been a board member since 2010. He has been CEO of Eastlink, a cable and communications company, and its associated communications companies since 1999. Prior to 1999, Mr. Bragg held various management positions with the Bragg Group of Companies.

Sandra Greer

Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Ms. Greer has been on the board of directors since 2014. She is the former President and CEO of AMIRIX Systems Inc./Vemco (2002-2012), a company engaged in the design, manufacturing and worldwide export of underwater acoustic marine tracking devices. Prior to AMIRIX, Ms. Greer held various management positions with Bristol Communications and MTT/Aliant (now Bell Aliant).

Christopher Huskilson

Wellington, Nova Scotia

Mr. Huskilson joined the board in 2004. He has been President and CEO of Emera since November 2004. He is the former Chair of Emera Maine, and Chair or Director of a number of other Emera associated companies. Since 1980, Mr. Huskilson has held a number of positions within NSPI and its predecessor, Nova Scotia Power Corporation.

Raymond Ivany

Wolfville, Nova Scotia

Mr. Ivany has been a board member since 2011. He has been President and Vice Chancellor of Acadia University since April 2009 and from 2007 to 2009 was Chair of the Workers’ Compensation Board of Nova Scotia. Mr. Ivany was President and CEO of Nova Scotia Community College from 1998 to 2005 and, prior to that, served as Executive Vice-President at the University College of Cape Breton.

Marie Rounding

Toronto, Ontario

Ms. Rounding joined the board of directors in 2007. She is counsel to Gowling WLG (Canada) LLP, and a member of the National Energy, Infrastructure and Mining Industry Group. Ms. Rounding was President and CEO of the Canadian Gas Association from 1998 to 2003 and Chair of the Ontario Energy Board from 1992 to 1998.